Excuse the mess, we’re making memories instead.

When you have your second baby you know just how fast the precious early days and months go by. Knowing this I made a vow to myself that I would slow myself down and savour the moment.

It’s all too easy to get caught up in the day-to-day household chores of life; tidying, cleaning, (mountains of) laundry, shopping and cooking. First time round I remember the feeling that I had to be some mythical super mum and wife who could do it all with bells, whistles and a pretty pink bow on.

But this time I’ve thought “to hell with that” and I feel so much better for it. Not wasting my time and energy trying to prove something to… well, I don’t know who – I never worked out who I was running around like a headless chicken for.

Instead I’m busy making memories. Wrapping myself in the early days and months of baby life. Snuggling, gazing, babbling, smelling, feeling, kissing, stroking, rocking my way through each day. Imprinting her onto my mind just as she is now so I can recall her in time to come when she has grown.

That’s not to say I didn’t do any of this with my first daughter, because I did, but certainly to a lesser degree. I felt anxious to have things ‘just so’. So to me it feels liberating to shut out unimportant distractions. Usually I take a can’t-sit-still-until-it’s-done approach to household chores.

Now though, if it means a messy house because I decided to have a sleep with my baby, so I could snuggle up and hold her close, then that’s fine by me.

Because I’ve learnt that I can’t stop the clock but I can slow myself down to take it all in.

So I’m sorry housework, you’ll have to wait. We’re busy making memories instead.

Leave a Reply

